Luminous-Lint - for collectors and connoisseurs of fine photography
HOME  BACK>>> Subscriptions <<< | Testimonials | Login | FREE NEWSLETTER

Getting around

 

HomeContentsVisual IndexesOnline ExhibitionsPhotographersGalleries and DealersThemes
AbstractEroticaFashionLandscapeNaturePhotojournalismPhotomontagePictorialismPortraitScientificStill lifeStreetWar
CalendarsTimelinesTechniquesLibrarySupport 
 

Stereographs Project

 
   Introduction 
   Photographers 
      A B C D E F G H  
      I J K L M N O P  
      Q R S T U V W X  
      Y Z  
   Locations 
   Backlists
 
HomeContentsPhotobooks > Book Details
0321130103
 
See larger photo
 
  
Adobe Photoshop Master Class: John Paul Caponigro, Second Edition 
 
  
Buy from USA Buy from UK Buy from Canada Buy from France Buy from Germany Buy from Japan 
[Click on the appropriate flag to buy the book]
Product Details 
  
 
Paperback 
504 pages 
Adobe Press 
Published 2003 
  
Amazon.com 
  
The author (the son of Paul Caponigro, a photographer in the tradition of Minor White and Ansel Adams) of Adobe Photoshop Master Class is a skilled art photographer who specializes in intriguing naturescapes that often employ compositing and mirroring. In this book, he shares the photographic wisdom and Photoshop methods that helped create these colorful, mysterious images. 
  
 
  
The title is appropriate: the book is modeled after master classes with performance artists; for example, operatic training with Maria Callas. The readers get to see, in detail, Caponigro's techniques and read his philosophies. This demonstration includes Photoshop basics that apply to all types of digital imaging, including calibration, adjustment layers, variations, levels, and curves. It also covers visual principles that are essential to photography in general, like proportion, scale, light, and shadows (including Ansel Adams's Zone system), and--important in the author's own work--reflection and tessellation. 
  
 
  
The images, which are generally devoid of the human form, have an otherworldly stillness. Their quiet intensity translates well into book form: the typography and layout resemble a museum catalog, with widely leaded, delicate lines of type. Readers who prefer skimming through how-to books for quick results will be daunted by the level of in-depth attention that this book demands. On the other hand, those who hope to use Photoshop for high-end digital imaging (not just preparing JPEGs for the Web or 600-dpi images for print) will be rewarded by the author's extensive experience and painstaking attention to detail. 
  
 
  
Most chapters discuss different issues (e.g., color or shadows) and use Caponigro's images as examples. The discussion is in a narrative form, with quotes and references to artists of all kinds, from Matisse to Goethe. It's like gaining admission to the most competitive graduate seminar, hosted by a renowned artist-in-residence. --Angelynn Grant 
  
 
  
Topics covered: 
  
 
  
Techniques for using Photoshop (version 5 or higher) on fine digital imaging, including:  
  
 
  
Monitor calibration  
  
Image resolution  
  
Applying levels and curves to the Zone system  
  
Output to print or film 
  
 
  
 
  
And photographic issues and Photoshop methods used in the author's work, including: 
  
 
  
 
  
Photomontage  
  
Proportion  
  
Contrast  
  
Color  
  
Multiple exposure 
  
 
  
--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.  
  
 
  
From Book News, Inc. 
  
Caponigro, an internationally recognized fine-art photographer, provides insight into his creative process. By showcasing his work and carefully explaining the steps he took to produce it, he reveals much about his creative method and his Photoshop techniques. Each chapter is organized around a specific visual theme (i.e. atmospheric perspective, selective focus, and split-toned or subdued-color images) and contains several color and b&w images. An introduction to the visual concept is followed... read more --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.  
  
 
  
Book Description 
  
Adobe Photoshop Master Class: John Paul Caponigro, 2nd Edition is no ordinary book on Photoshop. It is a true master class by renowned artist and photographer John Paul Caponigro, in which he shares his insights and discoveries as a visual artist. Although the book contains step-by-step tutorials that deconstruct some of Caponigro's most inspirational photographic works, the emphasis is on technique and visual problem solving, enabling you to take the concepts and apply them to your own unique projects. Updated for Photoshop 7, the revised edition of this master class includes numerous new and revised chapters that explain how to achieve color accuracy and extend dynamic range, direct attention through focus, control atmospheric perspective, and more. You don't have to be a professional photographer to appreciate and learn from this beautiful and informative book-Caponigro starts out with a section covering Photoshop essentials before moving on to more advanced artistic techniques.
 
  
 
  

This photographer...

 
  
Adobe Photoshop Master Class: John Paul Caponigro, Second Edition 
  
John Paul Caponigro
Click here to buy this book from Amazon
  
 
 
  
 
  
HOME  BACK>>> Subscriptions <<< | Testimonials | Login | FREE NEWSLETTER
 Facebook LuminousLint 
 Twitter @LuminousLint